jump to navigation

FALLING IN GEORGIA – A RECURRING THEME April 23, 2008

Posted by wetalkhablamos in chechu, cycling fans, team astana, tour de georgia.
trackback

News flash! Observant Crustacean Solves ASO Crisis, Goes KERSPLATT!

What’s black and blue and red all over ? Amy, at the end of Stage 2 at the Tour de Georgia.

Read all about it. –Rebecca

I’ll get to the title later, but first I want to talk about the day.

Once again, I got up late. The excitement of this whole experience is making it hard for me to get to sleep at night, so I spend a lot of time thinking about my day and what I have to look forward to.

I programmed my destination into my GPS and, for whatever reason, she had me going through the country on two lane roads with very little sign of civilization.

I didn’t understand the reasoning behind the route, but little experiences along the way to Statesboro made it clear in the end. I saw little old men standing on rickety old bridges with a fishing line hanging over the edge. I saw tiny little puppies barely missing getting hit by a car and I saw a young woman stranded at the side of the road, her car totaled and the deer she hit lying in front of her car. I stopped to make sure she was ok. There wasn’t anything I could do for the deer.The little old men gave me a feeling of nostalgia, the puppies a feeling of gratitude for the driver in front of me for being aware, and the young woman gave me a chance to think of someone besides myself. When I saw her, my first thought was not whether or not I make it to Statesboro. All life changing experiences if I let them be.

When I finally arrived in Statesboro for Stage 2 and found the team buses, Astana hadn’t arrived yet. While I was waiting, a gentleman walked by and saw my paddle. He chuckled and said what we needed to do with it was go and use it on that Frenchman. I knew exactly who he was referring to and I laughed so hard I nearly fell off the wall I was sitting on.

Then I was approached by Ken Conley, who is responsible for many beautiful pictures on this site. He too noticed my paddle and recognized it from the picture Rebecca had posted last night. So we hung out for awhile waiting for Astana to arrive. Oh, and I wanted to thank Ken for capturing the very moment Chechu was signing my paddle. What a wonderful surprise that was, when I first saw it.

Cathy was at the team bus again so we chatted for awhile while I waited for the boys to come off the bus. She’s very sweet and funny and I’ve enjoyed spending time with her. I was able to get George to sign my book and Christian Vande Velde as well, who seemed just a little concerned when he noticed my sunburned arms. How sweet is that?

George Hincapie, Stage 2

Sorry, Annie, that I didn’t heed your advice to wear sunscreen – a mistake I have since rectified, though it is a bit too late for the two-legged lobster. (That would be me, for anyone who doesn’t get my sense of humor.)

I asked Jared to sign my book too, but he said he’d never hear the end of it if any of the guys saw him doing that. I’m sure he meant there’s be a lot of playful ribbing from the guys. And I got Tony and Cathy to sign my paddle.

Eki was once again the elusive one, still not smiling for me or saying hello, so my mission the rest of the week is to at least get a smile out of him.

The start didn’t go 100% as it should have because a camper (perhaps a team camper) was too high to go under the start sign and there was a real danger that the peloton was going to finish their one and only circuit in Statesboro only to run right into the back of this camper. Luckily, it was moved far enough to the side to allow for the safe passage of the entire caravan. So off to Augusta at this point for the stage finish.

Levi heads over to sign in, Stage 2

I arrived in Augusta about two hours before the peloton and this gave me an opportunity to check out all the booths they had set up. I introduced myself to Jerry at the LAF booth – another Chechu fan – and met Frankie Andreu, who was there representing some start-up website. Sorry, can’t remember the name. He was very cordial.

So now let me explain the title of this blog entry. While driving from Statesboro to Augusta, Annie called me to tell me about Michael Schär’s crash. So I decided that, in order to show my true support of the team, I should trip over a sand bag and fall backwards into the metal barriers on the side of the race route 50 meters from the finish line.

Some kind gentlemen came to my rescue and helped me up, and all I remember was saying something like “Oh my” as I was going down. No, really, no cuss words came out of this mouth of mine at a time when they’d be most appropriate. They asked if I was ok. Should I be truthful? No, just tell them your ego is bruised and leave the nursing of the wounds for the privacy of your hotel room.

So, from my Motel 6 room in Augusta I bid my cycling family a cheerful, if not painful, goodnight. I’m going to take more Advil and go to bed.

Amy

Bobby Julich, Stage 1

Comments»

1. Anikó Szász - April 23, 2008

Thanks for the great story and pictures again Amy! I hope you can fulfill your mission with Eki! Enjoy your days in the race!

AnnieS.

2. Juls - April 23, 2008

Amy – another great blog! I am so glad you are having a great time and getting to meet all of these great people.
I hope you get Eki to smile – and even a sig.

Take care of yourself!!


Leave a Reply

